Radical Horticulture

Spoiler alert: it’s not that radical

One of the accounts I follow on Mastodon is Radical Anthropology. I find anthropology fascinating, as it’s looking at what actually happened rather than a glib assertion (eg patriarchy isn’t universal). David Graeber’s book Debt: The First 5,000 Years is my first anthropological venture.

This interest really has come about from reading Antonia Malchik’s brilliant newsletter On The Commons. Gardens are peculiarly human constructs, they are literally set into the landscape, yet the rise of individual property rights alongside an economic system predicated on corporate capitalism means the very foundations of our modern, individualistic, parcelled plots are shaped by the history of ownership over the past 400 years.

I coined the phrase Radical Horticulture in response to moving house, and the realisation that a private garden only lasts as long as the present private owners. Far better for community wildlife forest gardens, whose survival doesn’t rely upon one individual. However, it can be very difficult setting up a community garden (I’ve been trying to create wildlife allotments in my local town for a year now), it feels like against the grain of private ownership.

Also, when I’ve talked about growing native plants, creating wildlife habitat and establishing ecosytems because a) it’s good for wildlife and b) it increases crop yields, I have been getting a fair bit of pushback. This was an email I received from a subscriber to my local allotment newsletter:

Wildlife allotments? What about real food allotments? Not everyone is 60 only thinking about Wildlife. I joined the group thinking you're looking to create normal allotments instead you're pursuing your hobby... great!

Really, I didn’t think it was that radical! Wildlife gardening isn’t an either/or, it’s all of the above.

Forest garden photos

Horse Mint (Mentha longifolia) in flower in the rain

Field Scabious (Knautia arvensis) in flower in client’s garden

Unidentified Sedum (Hylotelephium hylotelephium?) coming up for blooming time. Gloriusly green, will be pink

The Undergrove garden starting to grow and come together

Inspirational quote

“People say history is history but do not understand that it’s the reality of the present moment”

~ JoDe Goudy

YouTube latest

I am back to livestreaming! Well, when I’m sat at my desk. It’s mostly me, noodling in CAD, writing lists of plants or researching planting schemes. I try to livestream 2-3 times per week, subscribe to be notified when I’m live.

Subscribe to my YouTube channel grwd.cc/subscribe-natureworksgarden

Hire me!

Wildlife and food forest garden designer, remote design a speciality natureworks.org.uk/design