Livestream—Patterns

Food Forest Patterns

 Nature Works

Monday 7th February, 7-8pm

A change of format for February’s free workshop. I am creating a 15 minute video to replace the 1 hour livestream monologue, packing in all the introductory information with less of the tangential waffle.

I’ll stream the video 7-7.15pm as a public livestream, and then we get down to the 40 minute Zoom workshop. This is your opportunity to talk about your garden and your plans.

To get tickets, sign up here, and please spread the word, thank you 🙂

Wednesday 2nd February, 10am GMT

Food Forest Patterns

I want to make it as easy as possible for people to grow wildlife friendly forest gardens.

Not everyone has the time, energy, resources or inclination to dive deep into the planning and design process, and the thousands of possible plants and variations.

So, I am creating Food Forest Patterns consisting of

  1. Three example ‘template’ gardens

  2. Fundamental principles of garden design

  3. Food forest patterns of planting combinations

  4. Specific species for specific combinations

  5. The guiding philosophy of forest gardening

This way, you can choose the garden template that fits your situation best, use design principles and food forest patterns to position your plants, be inspired by specific combinations, and all the while being guided by forest garden principles.

As always, here will be a Zoom meeting at the end of the livestream to discuss all things forest garden. Everybody very much welcome to attend 🙂.

The basic pattern of canopy, shrub, herbaceous perennial & ground cover

Livestream

Zoom chat

  • Zoom chat

  • Password: abundance

  • Time: 10.30—11:00am

Share
Tweet
Forward

Forest Garden Plant of the Moment

I needed a sturdy, maintenance-free, evergreen ground cover for an inaccessible slope. Using my Garden Wild Spreadsheet, I settled upon Bugle (Ajuga reptans). Stunning native plant, great for wildlife and available as cheap plugs. 

January’s livestream: Clifftop Garden 

The video is up on my Nature Works YouTube channel.

Lovely range of Jekka’s herb plants

There is a big crossover between herbs, native wild flowers and forest garden stalwarts (just take a look at Plants For A Future). I have been looking for a range of aromatic herbs for the Clifftop Garden that I’m working on, and I came across Jekka’s herb plants.

I had heard about Jekka many years ago but I’ve never really considered buying plants from her. With my increasing interest in native wild flowers and planning the heavily scented Clifftop Garden, I finally managed to start perusing the catalogue. It’s brilliant.

Also, as gardeners we need to apply pressure on our nurseries, making sure they use peat free compost. Jekka comes up trumps with sustainable and organic gardening ethos and advice.

Share
Tweet
Forward